High School Basketball Forum: Bunk's SHS vs CHS match up analysis: 4 PF

Posted by Bunk on Wed, Jan 30, 2013, at 11:36 PM:

Since there the Sikeston- Charleston rematch will be upon on us shortly I have decided to take a closer look at the individual players for each team and try and attempt to identify their skill set and how those skill sets will match up against one another. I will be using a light blend of statistical analysis, my own opinion from watching each team play several times, and the results of these two teams previous encounter in my decision about which wins the match up. For full disclosure purposes I am a Sikeston graduate and a Sikeston fan but I have followed the Charleston boys closely for years as the program has regained it's former glory, which has made me a fan of the Jays as well. These posts are as unbiased as possible and are not meant to unfairly critique anyone but merely reveal the strategic differences in each player's game. Sikeston stats were provided through fellow semoball contributors and checked by Standard Democrat articles on the games. Charleston stats were provided by Maxpreps( although Maxpreps has CHS record of 18-2 correct they only have 16 game stats instead of 21 so averages are determined based on this amount of game stats reported).

Our penultimate match up: Reese Porter vs Darrion Carter

Reese Porter

PPG: 10 FG%: 66% RPG: 6.4 TO per game: 1 SPG: 1.9 FT%: 50%

Darrion Carter

PPG: 13.6 FG%: 64% RPG: 6.2 TO per game: 1.5 SPG: .9 FT%: 61%

This is where the decisions start getting tough folks. Each team has two well developed low post players who play well together as a unit. Generally it is harder to distinguish significant statistical differences about the big boys down low at the HS level due to the lack of available stats and other advanced measures. This means we have to rely a little bit more on the eye test than usual but it shouldn't be to bad.